Day 5

Posted: June 18, 2010 in Logs
Tags: , ,

Today I pulled the wiper arms off to replace the blades.  The blades just unsnap and slide out.  I looked them up on the Napa site and it showed two of them for about $3.50.  Napa isn’t as close as Advance Auto, so I went there instead.  They didn’t have anything like the blade.  They said they might have the whole wiper if I had brought it, which I didn’t.  I don’t “hate” the wipers that I have, but one is held together with something like putty and neither one comes apart despite putting a wrench on there to attempt to loosen the bolt.  I’ll try again tomorrow.  I don’t want to put a lot into it yet because I just need to pass inspection so I can drive it.

I bought a “new” tire today.  It’s new to me.  I bought it used for $76, which is much better than the $150 (and even $200 at another place) the local Firestone wants to charge me.  It looks great and they mounted it and balanced it.

While we had the wheel off, we checked out the front brakes a little closer and honestly, they don’t look horrible so I’ll send them to inspection like that and see what they have to say about it.  I mean, the truck seems to stop just fine and there aren’t any grinding noises or leaks.

Here are pics of the brakes:

Those aren’t “deep grooves”, just a little rust.

We also took a closer look at the left signal light and it’s not as simple as I originally thought.  While I was tinkering with the bulb, my son jiggled the turn signal lever and it came on, so it’s more of a loose connection.  Guess I’ll be pulling the steering wheel after all.  That’s not a bad thing since I can go ahead and look into fixing the horn right.

Leave a Reply

