Day 8

Posted: June 30, 2010 in Logs
Tags: , ,

“The show so far”

Well, the inspection went well – at least, it went “weller” than I thought.  It failed, but it failed for reasons I didn’t expect.

First, the left trailing arm has a crack in it.  I knew this, but I didn’t realize that was an inspection requirement.  I’m lucky because the person I bought it from had two extra ones he just picked up and they are in great shape.   So I think that will go well.

Second, the left front brake is sticking a little.  I would have thought the pads would fail, but they are fine, it’s the opposite – it doesn’t release well.

Third, and worst in my opinion, is a hole in the floorboard.  They are worried about those pesky exhaust fumes.  I need to get some metal welded into place to fix that.  I know a little about a lot of stuff, but not welding.  So that’s last on my list.

I have fifteen days to fix everything, but it’s not horrible if I don’t finish – I just have to get a complete re-inspection if I don’t finish in that time frame.

So, I started right in on the trailing arm.  I used a tool on the drill to take it just about down to bare metal and then I primed it and added two coats of black rust resistant paint.  This is unusual for me – I usually do everything H.A., but Jamie usually does everything 110% and she is wearing off on me so I am doing it right all along the way.  The new one looks excellent and it’s ready to go.  I just need to get the old one off – sounds easy, right?  Just take off the two nuts and drop the old one.  Oh, wait – no, it’s not that easy.  I slapped the impact wrench on the nut but to absolutely NO movement whatsoever.  I then tried a 3/4″ socket wrench with a 1 1/16″ socket – nope.  Then I tried a 10′ pipe on the wrench with two of us – nope, pipe bent.  Then I tried a chisel – nope.  Then I tried my saws-all – nope.  Then I bought new blades and tried again – nope.  The u-bolt is obviously made of some hardened material from outer space.

Finally, tonight, I checked with my next door neighbor and he had a cut-off saw/grinder and it really did the job.  I can’t believe I don’t own one of those yet.  I cut the u-bolt in two places and even though it’s loose, I still can’t get the arm to drop yet.  It was already almost 9pm, so I called it a night but I am definitely making progress.

Tomorrow I’ll get it loose and then work on breaking the truck fitting away from the arm and I can prime it all and put it back together.  What fun!  (no, really – I love this stuff).

I’ll post some pictures of the “show so far” tomorrow.

Comments
  1. James says:

    Nice work. I haven’t even attempted a safety inspection yet. That’ll be interesting 🙂

    Doesn’t seem like your list to get it to pass is all that bad.

    Where are you located, btw?

    • dewitte says:

      Chesapeake, VA – how about you?

      I think I’m going to have to buy “Welding for Dummies” soon.

Leave a Reply

