Day 10

Posted: July 23, 2010 in Logs
Tags: , ,

The next item to tackle on my list is the driver side front wheel brake.  The inspection station said it was sticking.  I removed the wheel and verified that the disc brake was not releasing.   He said it was a hose.

I went to NAPA and asked for a hose for it, where I found that a 1965 Chevy C20 does not have disc brakes.

Hmm – really?  Because I have them.  Obviously they are off of something else.

I pulled the caliper loose and took the number up to them to get a new hose.  He said it is off of a 1973 C10.  He, of course, doesn’t have one.  He can order it.  Now, I’d already been to AutoZone and they didn’t have any idea what the GM part number cross referenced to.   I was impressed that NAPA immediately looked it up.

Two days later, the hose arrived and I took mine up there, but it wasn’t the same.  Their hose was a right hose that someone had put in a left box.  He had to reorder.

The next day I went back and now the hose was a left hose, but it doesn’t fit my caliper.  The bolt is a different size.  The guy typed for a while and came up with a 1975 C10 hose that fit just right.  Terrific.  I went home and put it all back together, but I was unable to remove the bleed fitting on my caliper.  Even with vise grips, all I managed to do was destroy the fitting.  So I went back to get a caliper.  I priced it earlier and it was only $17, which is well within my tolerance for pain vs. throughput.  He took out his caliper and it didn’t match mine.  Same GM#, but it was different.  The 3/8″ brake line was too big.  This one looked like a 1/4.  Everything else was exactly the same.  I didn’t want to buy another hose, so he typed more and found the right caliper.  I think it was off of a 1973 C10.  I’m starting to feel like I’m in a Johnny Cash song.  He had to order it.

NAPA is obviously a geographical oddity – two days from everywhere, but at least they get results

Two days later I picked up the new caliper, put it all back together and bled the brakes.

I’m a little disturbed because even after all of this, the wheel still drags a bit.  I’m not sure why.  The caliper properly extends and retracts but you can hear the wheel pressing against the brake pads.  The pads are also practically new, so I’m hoping they just need to wear in a bit.  Maybe it’s a combination of surface rust on the rotor and new pads.

Yeah, that’s it.  We’ll see.

So that’s 2 of 3 tasks.

The next task to tackle is the gaping “Fred Flintstone” hole in my floor pan.

I called Brother’s trucks yesterday and ordered a replacement pan and rocker for the drivers side.  Looks like learning how to weld is in my near future.

From Planes, Trains, and Automobiles:

Cop: “Do you feel this vehicle is safe for highway travel?”
Del: “Yes I do. Yes I really do. I believe that. I know it’s not pretty to look at, but it’ll get you where you want to go.”

Leave a Reply

