Day 12 – New Tires

Posted: April 29, 2011 in Logs
Tags: , , ,

My right front tire was getting a little too bare to pass inspection so I went by the used tire place to get a tire and I was greeted with “Loads of Laughter”.  It’s not crazy for me to go there, since that is where I bought my last one and it was fantastic.  Now that I needed another, I was reassured just how difficult it is to come by one of these second hand.  I had already checked a few of the local new tire places and a  16.5 x 9.5 tire runs around $250+ – which is 1/6 the price of the truck.  Nope, don’t see it.

They suggested I come back when the manager was there (he is who I dealt with the first time) and sure enough when I did, he had one.  It was $70.  I was about to sign on the dotted line when I asked what would happen in 6 months if I needed another tire and he said I’d probably go through the same ordeal.  I’m not into “ordeals” so much (which makes you wonder why I picked this truck – but I picked this truck to avoid the ordeals associated with computers, air monitors, and automatic transmissions).  I asked him if there were any other options and he suggested I swap out the rims, and he had two with tires.

So I took off the two 16.5 x 9.5 rims/tires on the front and replaced them with 16 x 8.5 tires and rims.  What’s cool is that I went to the Walmart tire site and there was many nice choices in this new size.  I honestly don’t see a difference on the truck – it appears to be the same in all ways just that the nice rim I’d painted is sitting in the garage now.  I’m thinking about selling it because the two tires with rims only cost $140 (total), so I could maybe sell these and buy two more for the back.

The back has 16.5 x 12.5 – which actually makes the truck look like some hot rod and I actually like it enough that I haven’t jumped on swapping those out – plus the tread is in terrific shape.

Leave a Reply

