Day 14 – Inspection #3

Posted: November 2, 2013 in Logs, Repairs

I think this is the 3rd inspection I’ve had.  I always think I’ll get it inspected and then have to park it in the backyard for six months while I work on it, but so far it’s never that bad.

This time I have to:

Replace the two front tires
Replace the muffler
Replace the power steering hoses
and fix the license plate light

I knew about everything beforehand except for the muffler.  Nothing is easy, though.  I could only find the hoses online so I ordered them today and they should be here on Tuesday (thank you, Amazon!).  We went to three places until I found a comparable muffler.  The one on there was a “Cherry Bomb” so the guy before me must have been a muffler enthusiast.  I just bought a Thrush because I’m all about cheap. My son and I got it on there but there is a slight leak so I stuffed the area full of JB Weld and hopefully we’ll be good to go.

Oh, and I looked the engine up.  As far as I can tell, it is from a 1970 Chevy Camaro.  It’s a 250, at least, that is what the code on the engine suggests and so far, the power steering and muffler match that car.

 

Comments
  1. dewitte says:

    OH, I finally bought a grease gun and did all of the front end – it feels like brand new steering now (well, except for the leak)

Leave a Reply

